Getting Back on the Blogwagon

Once I was a blogger, but I strayed from the path. During my time in Japan, I kept a blog on what now feels like the ancient site of Xanga (I know, I feel ashamed just typing that ‘X’).  I posted almost every day, partially because there wasn’t much else to do in that squid-fishing town (except, well, squid-fishing) and partially because almost every day provided enough insane, hilarious, and/or disturbing material for at least one post, if not more. A young man utterly ignorant of the Japanese language or culture attempting to teach English to Japanese kids in the deepest countryside is a recipe for hilarious disaster.

Blogging brought benefits. Two of my closest friends here in Chicago I met through my blog. I’ve made many more friends through them and was even a groomsman in their wedding (in Mexico!). As I said at their rehearsal dinner, not everyone you meet through the Internet is a serial killer. Just most of them.

Life in Chicago never lacks for excitement and my job with the Japanese government means I’m never at a loss for insanity. But I stopped blogging when I got back to the States, probably because I now lived in a place where there was more to do than squid-fishing.

But it’s time I started blogging again. I’m an aspiring writer and if there’s one piece of advice every writer gives it’s, “write every day.” I admit that while I have been much more disciplined lately in my writing, I’m still not doing it daily. Hence, the blog, that blank page staring out every day begging to be updated, begging to be covered with inane musings and angry rants about those jerks who crowd around the back doors of CTA buses.

So, once again, a blogging I will go. I promise that even though Chicago has a lot more to do than Tsushima, I will endeavor to blog as regularly as I did when my only other social option was watching the squid spin in the breeze.

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Yay! Welcome back 🙂 I love the phrase “watching the squid spin in the breeze.” What a beautiful and bizarre image…Can’t wait to read more!

  2. (one of us. one of us. one of us.)

    seriously, welcome back to blogville.

  3. Whoo hoo! Can’t wait to read!

  4. I thoroughly enjoyed your ramblings. You are following in the tradition of Franz Kafka and i am anxious to see how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

Adventures in Storyland

fat feminist reads books, has opinions

massive hassle

adventures in gender, pop culture and snark

S. Qiouyi Lu

for just one moment, I miss home.

Naturally Lilly's

An Etsy Crafter's and Booklover's Blog

Elizabeth Rose Stanton - Penspaper Studio

Just another WordPress.com weblog

This Kid Reviews Books

A Place for Kids and Grown-Ups to Discover Books

mothermade

… a collection of thoughts on being American, Asian and adopted

catseatdogsmakesandbakes.wordpress.com/

Fabulous. Friendly. Homemade.

The Rabid Rainbow Ferret Society

The Adventures of Six Mad Writers

True Confessions of a Gen-X Trekkie

Trekkie "of a certain age" - "returning adult learner" - adventures in college television - doing my best to not move into my mom's basement

Underneath the Juniper Tree

Not your little sister's bedtime stories...

Emily L. Hauser - In My Head

Writer, social activist, a lot of Israel/Palestine, and general mental rambling

Lara Ehrlich Editorial

Everyone needs an editor. I'll be yours.

