Another Man’s Hell…

Cultural differences are a given. As much as we emphasize all we have in common across national and ethnic lines, we also know that people in other countries and cultures think, eat, dress, and act differently. There’s the old joke about heaven being a place organized by the Swiss with British police, French chefs, German mechanics, Italian lovers, while hell is a place organized by the Italians with British chefs, French mechanics, German police, and Swiss lovers.

Every now and then, though, you find out something you considered universal is, in fact, culturally specific. When I was a kid, it was Santa Claus. It was sort of heartbreaking to learn that not only did billions of children around the world not get visits from Santa, neither did my Jewish classmates. This seemed like a great tragedy, or perhaps an indication that Santa was a white supremacist.

Holidays are a great way to realize how silly your own culture is. Try explaining Groundhog Day to a foreigner and not sound like an idiot (“so, if this giant rat creature in Pennsylvania sees his shadow on February 2nd, we have six more weeks of winter. It’s national news”). Not to mention the insane magical world we Americans grew up in, one populated by tooth-collecting pixies, obese elves who leave candy in your socks, and a giant rabbit who breaks into your house and hides eggs behind your couch.

Still, we know holidays and their assorted magical beings are cultural, even if they’re so deeply routed in your culture and nostalgic childhood memories that it’s hard to appreciate how strange they must seem to outsiders.

The differences that are most shocking are those we unconsciously assume are universal. Experiences and emotions so primal that it seems absurd that they’re not global: coming-of-age anxieties, romantic love, fear of mortality. It’s nearly impossible to imagine encountering a culture whose people don’t experience those things.

Recently, though, I had such a shock. I discovered that a human experience I had considered part of every human being’s life was, well, not.

That experience? That middle school is hell.

Ask any American and they’ll tell you that junior high school/middle school was hell. I’ve never met an American who didn’t. They don’t call them “the ugly years” for nothing. Your body is mutating, you smell, your mind is consumed by uncontrollable urges you don’t even understand, hair is growing in disturbing places, and you are deeply, deeply insecure. You desperately want to fit in and be an individual at the same time. So does everyone else. And so you lash out at each other, your insecurity frothing and boiling over into viciousness and violence.

Middle school is when human beings are at their worst–petty, ignorant, jealous, ready to tear down everyone around them. People fantasize about reliving college or high school. Nostalgia-tugging movies and TV shows are frequently set in both settings. Nobody ever wants to go back to junior high. Nobody wants to even think about it. Like prison, you get out, you run, and you never look back.

(You can click on the Kumiko tab above to see how I’ve channeled my traumatic middle school memories: writing a book about a seventh grade girl who is turning into a giant spider).

Yet when talking with my girlfriend Ayako, it came out that in Japan, at least, middle school is not considered hell. She didn’t even believe me at first that all Americans shudder at the very words “junior high.” She pointed out that I was, and still am, a huge nerd, so clearly middle school would suck for me.

But while having dinner with our friends Lara and Doug, we three Americans had a long and lively discussion about the awfulness of middle school and Ayako said she was surprised to find that I was right “for once.”

Surprised as she was, I was more shocked to find out that Japanese people generally don’t consider junior high school to be the nadir of existence. I taught in Japanese junior high schools for two years and I just assumed my students were going through hell. I certainly saw enough bullying and backstabbing for it to be true, but then bullying and backstabbing truly are human universals.

So, why do we Americans have such a hard time in junior high while the Japanese don’t? I have a lot of theories, all of them pretty shallow. One is that American middle schoolers feel adrift. They are beginning to have a sense of the wider world and know they have to find a place in it, but are so monstrous, ignorant, and insecure that they don’t know where to start. Japanese junior high gives you a place: it’s this desk here. Please sit quietly and repeat after Tanaka-sensei.

Maybe it’s that many Japanese people make some of their close and life-long friends in junior high. Ayako is still close with her circle of friends from her junior high days. In America, I think groups of friends shift a lot up through high school and are often obliterated by the move to college.

Whatever the reason, it’s strange to think that somewhere out there in the world, there are seventh graders who aren’t stinky little balls of insecure rage and borderline sociopathy. There are people out there who look back on that time in their lives and don’t feel nauseous.

I suppose that’s a good thing, but somehow, it just feels wrong.

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I still feel like a great many of my problems would have been circumvented by a proto-fascist uniform policy.

    That way I wouldn’t have gotten mocked for wearing MLB expansion team t-shirts (for clubs I didn’t even follow but had because they were cheap as free), hand-me-down clothes from my cousin that might not have even been popular 5 years earlier, and not _____ (insert whatever Abercrombie-esque brand is popular at the time).

    • In Greece, middle school is also quite lovely. All the kids are so friendly, sweet, and cheerful! Not at all how I remembered my own middle school experience to be…

  2. Hi Austin,
    I just stumbled on your blog through Gchat. I am very impressed!
    Middle school was definitely the worst period of my life! My Mom actually taught middle school for one year, which was pure Hell (probably worse than actually being a middle school student–one of her female students locked her in a closet). No joke–her principal actually told her not to expect the student’s to learn anything while they attended the school. In his own words, “…we are just passing them through.”
    It’s funny, Tom is one of a few people I’ve known who actually enjoyed junior high. Everyone thought he was cool because he was the only Japanese kid in the school. 🙂

    • My mom taught middle school, too. She didn’t get locked in a closet, but she certainly didn’t enjoy it that much.

      Interesting about Tom. Maybe Nihonjin and Nikkeijin alike are genetically predisposed to like jr. high. It’s something in the tea!

    • Haha… nice Austin!

      Yeah, there’s gotta be other people that have liked Jr. High school. It just can’t be me. And yes, I made friends just because I was Japanese-American. What can I say? However, it’s a double edged sword.

  3. Austin, looks like my wordpress glitched or something. Either that, or my in-house slave labor blog elves have decided to spam you.

    you can go ahead and delete that one, whatever it is.

Leave a Reply

Sarah Hollowell

fat writer girl and her fat words

massive hassle

adventures in gender, pop culture and snark

S. Qiouyi Lu

for just one moment, I miss home.

Naturally Lilly's

An Etsy Crafter's and Booklover's Blog

Elizabeth Rose Stanton - Penspaper Studio

Just another WordPress.com weblog

This Kid Reviews Books

A Place for Kids and Grown-Ups to Discover Books

mothermade

… a collection of thoughts on being American, Asian and adopted

catseatdogsmakesandbakes.wordpress.com/

Fabulous. Friendly. Homemade.

The Rabid Rainbow Ferret Society

The Adventures of Six Mad Writers

True Confessions of a Gen-X Trekkie

Trekkie "of a certain age" - "returning adult learner" - adventures in college television - doing my best to not move into my mom's basement

Underneath the Juniper Tree

Not your little sister's bedtime stories...

Emily L. Hauser - In My Head

Writer, social activist, a lot of Israel/Palestine, and general mental rambling

Lara Ehrlich Editorial

Everyone needs an editor. I'll be yours.

