Oline’s Father Had This Girlfriend…

My friend and Naked Lady Bar comrade Oline has a story published in Contrary Magazine. You should go read it. It’s right here. It’s really good.

The piece went before the Naked Lady Bar review committee and the Dane and I gave it our edits. I knew then that it was good piece and publishable, even before we broke out the red pens. It’s even better now, though, in its finished and polished form. When I first clicked on the link to Contrary and saw the piece there in its published glory, I felt a weird twinge of pride (and envy, yes). Pride that I’d seen it before its debut. Pride that I’d played a tiny role in helping it get to this point.

Writers often compare publishing a story or novel with watching your kids go off to college. The feeling that this precious thing you’ve tended and agonized over is now grown. It’s out in the world. It’s out of your hands and out of your control.

Obviously, I don’t really feel that way about Oline’s piece or Croftie’s novel (which isn’t in college yet; right now, it’s working on scholarship applications to Brown or something). But editing a piece gives you a taste of it.

I’m not a parent sending his kid off to college. Not yet. I’m more like the neighborhood swimming coach seeing a former student, someone else’s kid, go out into the world. The kid’s not my kid, but I hope people like her, anyway.

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Well said, Osutein. In the metaphorium you’ve set up here, my work is that kid in the pre-kindergarten class that won’t talk to anyone else and spends all day fingerpainting red and purple mammoths.

  2. OUCH my heart. that’s the sweetest thing ever. there is very much the sensation whenever i do get a girl into school that she needs to send you and the dane a big bouquet. there’s absolutely no doubt in my mind that the NLB is the only reason croftie was right and it’s the year we’re getting published. who knew one thursday a month could make such a difference? THANK YOU FOREVER and EVER, friend. seriously.

  3. Croftie is always right. And you guys are amazing. Sensei, if the BP gets into college, you get a huge cake (and a huge acknowledgement). I will expect the same, of course. Because you WILL get published, my friend.

Leave a Reply

Adventures in Storyland

fat feminist reads books, has opinions

massive hassle

adventures in gender, pop culture and snark

S. Qiouyi Lu

for just one moment, I miss home.

Naturally Lilly's

An Etsy Crafter's and Booklover's Blog

Elizabeth Rose Stanton - Penspaper Studio

Just another WordPress.com weblog

This Kid Reviews Books

A Place for Kids and Grown-Ups to Discover Books

mothermade

… a collection of thoughts on being American, Asian and adopted

catseatdogsmakesandbakes.wordpress.com/

Fabulous. Friendly. Homemade.

The Rabid Rainbow Ferret Society

The Adventures of Six Mad Writers

True Confessions of a Gen-X Trekkie

Trekkie "of a certain age" - "returning adult learner" - adventures in college television - doing my best to not move into my mom's basement

Underneath the Juniper Tree

Not your little sister's bedtime stories...

Emily L. Hauser - In My Head

Writer, social activist, a lot of Israel/Palestine, and general mental rambling

Lara Ehrlich Editorial

Everyone needs an editor. I'll be yours.

