Ghosts in the Machine

Underneath the Juniper Tree has published my terrifying (and true!) story about my haunted Japanese cell phone on their website. You can read it here (and I apologize in advance for any chills received): The Ghost in the Machine.

Every word of it is true. I’ve shown the photos to a few people and they have all reliably been freaked out by them. Because the photos are freaky and I don’t have any logical explanation for them (which doesn’t suggest that one doesn’t exist, just that I haven’t found one yet).

I am not a particularly superstitious person and despite my career in writing witch-centric literature, I am also not particularly prone to belief in ghosts. Having worked in the tourist trade in old cities like Charleston and Williamsburg, I’ve spent a lot of time in reputedly haunted buildings and houses, often after hours and at night. I’ve never seen a ghost, nor felt myself in one’s presence. I’m not convinced that ghosts exist. But I still can’t explain the photos of that gray face in my old cellphone.

I believe, in the end, that there is a logical, earth-bound explanation for them, but I doubt I’ll ever discover it. Either way, the photos are proof of one thing for sure — the world is a mysterious place, full of dark corners and niches, and inside those dark corners and niches dwell dark things we cannot explain.

Leave a Reply

Adventures in Storyland

fat feminist reads books, has opinions

massive hassle

adventures in gender, pop culture and snark

S. Qiouyi Lu

for just one moment, I miss home.

Naturally Lilly's

An Etsy Crafter's and Booklover's Blog

Elizabeth Rose Stanton - Penspaper Studio

Just another WordPress.com weblog

This Kid Reviews Books

A Place for Kids and Grown-Ups to Discover Books

mothermade

… a collection of thoughts on being American, Asian and adopted

catseatdogsmakesandbakes.wordpress.com/

Fabulous. Friendly. Homemade.

The Rabid Rainbow Ferret Society

The Adventures of Six Mad Writers

True Confessions of a Gen-X Trekkie

Trekkie "of a certain age" - "returning adult learner" - adventures in college television - doing my best to not move into my mom's basement

Underneath the Juniper Tree

Not your little sister's bedtime stories...

Emily L. Hauser - In My Head

Writer, social activist, a lot of Israel/Palestine, and general mental rambling

Lara Ehrlich Editorial

Everyone needs an editor. I'll be yours.

