Super Happy Pink Cherry Blossom Tropical Wedding Death Spiral

It’s been a while. The cobwebs have grown thick over this blog. Just opening the page to write this post has sent a cloud of dust into the air, turning the light grainy and sepia. A small family of mice has nested in my dashboard. There is a dead cricket lying in the cracks beneath the Kumiko page. Fittingly.

Where have I been? you ask. Well, I’ve been busy.

April 2012 was the month that tried to murder me. What two years on an isolated island in the East China Sea and one year at a university not-at-all jokingly called “where fun comes to die” could not do, April 2012 nearly did. It nearly gave me a nervous breakdown. It damn near done me in.

I will dispense with the self-pity party in a second, but suffice to say that if in the future you are ever presented with the opportunity to plan a 10-city, Midwest-wide major diplomatic series of events, while also having your normal job hit one of its busiest seasons, while also planning a wedding halfway around the world that involves two languages, do not take it. It’s a bad idea.

In the end, though, all the sturm and stress led to great things. Cherry trees were planted where they were supposed to be planted. More importantly for me, our wedding in Maui went off beautifully. Having our friends and family from all over the world join us on the ocean shore as Ayako and I pledged our love and devotion was wonderful. It was the best day of my life.

Also, I got to see a manta ray. That was cool.

In spite of the craziness stemming from what I like to call my “Super Happy Pink  Cherry Blossom Tropical Wedding Death Spiral”, I still managed to get a lot of writing done. Five new Mab stories have been written recently, and the first Mab book is starting to take serious shape.

I did some calculations last night and I’m currently clocking in at around 15,000 words. Middle-grade books usually run from 20K – 40K words, and I’m aiming at around 30K for the first Mab book, which puts me roughly halfway home. The end is a ways to go, but for the first time in my writing life, I feel confident that I’ll get there. That’s a nice feeling.

With the wedding and cherry blossom insanity largely over, I will dig in and write more here.

So, keep your eyes on this space. April 2012 may have tried to kill me, but as the Joker says, what doesn’t kill you just makes you stranger.

Leave a Reply

Adventures in Storyland

fat feminist reads books, has opinions

massive hassle

adventures in gender, pop culture and snark

S. Qiouyi Lu

for just one moment, I miss home.

Naturally Lilly's

An Etsy Crafter's and Booklover's Blog

Elizabeth Rose Stanton - Penspaper Studio

Just another WordPress.com weblog

This Kid Reviews Books

A Place for Kids and Grown-Ups to Discover Books

mothermade

… a collection of thoughts on being American, Asian and adopted

catseatdogsmakesandbakes.wordpress.com/

Fabulous. Friendly. Homemade.

The Rabid Rainbow Ferret Society

The Adventures of Six Mad Writers

True Confessions of a Gen-X Trekkie

Trekkie "of a certain age" - "returning adult learner" - adventures in college television - doing my best to not move into my mom's basement

Underneath the Juniper Tree

Not your little sister's bedtime stories...

Emily L. Hauser - In My Head

Writer, social activist, a lot of Israel/Palestine, and general mental rambling

Lara Ehrlich Editorial

Everyone needs an editor. I'll be yours.

